Miniature Electric Football Forums

Miniature Electric Football Forums (http://www.miniaturefootball.com/forum/index.php)
-   Miniature Electric Football Tailgate Party (http://www.miniaturefootball.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   I need the facts on this one fellas (http://www.miniaturefootball.com/forum/showthread.php?t=11115)

NATIONAL 02-23-2009 04:48 PM

I need the facts on this one fellas
 
Does a QB spike count as an incomplete pass?

If someone can find the NFL rule on this one, I would appreciate it. I don't need what you think, Just the facts sir!


Thanks in advance

the F.O.TH.

dallcow4life28 02-23-2009 05:19 PM

Yes...
 
it is an incompletion.

Lindyhopper49 02-23-2009 05:23 PM

hmmm... I think it would have to be considered slightly differently as the QB is still in the tackle box when he spikes the ball... if it were the same as an incomplete pass would it not also be intentional grounding?

Interesting question...

Electric Coach 02-23-2009 05:27 PM

The Question Should Be
 
The question should be why isn't a QB spike intentional grounding. I ask this because when a QB throws the football away while in the pocket to a place where there is no receiver, it is called as intentional grounding. Spiking the ball is done in partial pocket and there is no receiver in the vicinity.

Maurice

The Electric Coach

Taylor 02-23-2009 05:53 PM

I think that it shouldn't be considered an incomplete pass. In basketball (at the high school level) coach and other coaches don't want you to mark down desperation shots (on the shot chart or the field goal sheet) of course unless it goes in (did happen this year.) The reason is that it could hurt your players' percentage if they miss because they are doing this in desperation.

But... If you think this way you would almost have to say that a hail mary would not be an incomplete pass.
Resources: I am a High school basketball manager

Ned Flanders 02-23-2009 07:19 PM

It is considered an incomplete pass. And it is not intentional grounding because the rules specfically allow it: "Intentional grounding will be called when a passer, facing an imminent loss of yardage due to pressure from the defense, throws a forward pass without a realistic chance of completion. "

The QB spiking the ball isn't facing "an imminent loss of yardage".

Now, it really shouldn't count as an incomplete pass against the QB. There should be a "Team incomplete" category or something. Just like QB kneel-downs shouldn't count as negative rushing yards.

Jeff

Coach K-LO 02-24-2009 10:47 AM

thmbsp$
Quote:

Originally Posted by Ned Flanders (Post 68654)
It is considered an incomplete pass. And it is not intentional grounding because the rules specfically allow it: "Intentional grounding will be called when a passer, facing an imminent loss of yardage due to pressure from the defense, throws a forward pass without a realistic chance of completion. "

The QB spiking the ball isn't facing "an imminent loss of yardage".

Now, it really shouldn't count as an incomplete pass against the QB. There should be a "Team incomplete" category or something. Just like QB kneel-downs shouldn't count as negative rushing yards.

Jeff

Great job!
thmbsp$ thmbsp$


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:39 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.6.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.