View Single Post
  #6  
Old 02-23-2009, 07:19 PM
Ned Flanders's Avatar
Ned Flanders Ned Flanders is offline
MFCA MEMBER
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Posts: 213
Default

It is considered an incomplete pass. And it is not intentional grounding because the rules specfically allow it: "Intentional grounding will be called when a passer, facing an imminent loss of yardage due to pressure from the defense, throws a forward pass without a realistic chance of completion. "

The QB spiking the ball isn't facing "an imminent loss of yardage".

Now, it really shouldn't count as an incomplete pass against the QB. There should be a "Team incomplete" category or something. Just like QB kneel-downs shouldn't count as negative rushing yards.

Jeff
Reply With Quote