Miniature Football Home  

Go Back   Miniature Electric Football Forums > Miniature Electric Football Tailgate Party
FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 12-02-2008, 04:24 PM
MANIAX

Default History

From Paul Gardner
“Industrial Designer Lee Payne is to Tudor NFL Electric Football what Walt Disney is to Mickey Mouse. “

Payne, who played high school football and one year of college football at the university of Georgia in 1952 under Coach Wallace Butts, is the mind behind the men the action poses, the idea of NFL pageantry, and the innovator of Tudor’s NFL look on its gameboard.
As he explained in his letter of 1981, “I first got involved with Tudor Games while I was a designer at Walter Dorwin Teague Associates in New York City. I began handling the Tudor account around 1960 and 1961, and hit on the idea of three-dimensional figures for Tudor’s electric football. At that time, Tudor was using two-dimensional relief figures which I felt were very unrealistic, not only in appearance but in action as well.”
“In order to convince Tudor of our idea we sculpted players out of wax representing what I felt were typical poses of football figures - poses naturally representing an 
offensive lineman, a lunging pose representing an end or defensive back, a figure with 
outstretched arms as if in a linebacking position, and a sprinting figure representing 
an end or defensive back. These figures were rather crudely done, but the idea got across to Tudor.”
Besides the realistic poses for the figures, they were also designed that the arms, shoulders, and hands contacted one another in a realistic manner and gave the consumer realistic action as to blocking, stiff arming, offensive and defensive 
action.”
“We then sculptured these originals in wax, had molds made by a jeweler who then cast duplicate wax figures so we were able to mock up complete teams of figures and show Tudor just what these would look like on their actual game.”